For CSE and IIT aspirants

Some FAQs about IAS exam

In Uncategorized on May 23, 2010 at 11:17 am

Sorry for the delay in writing this first post. I’ve been quite busy after the results have come out. In this first post, I would like to address some general queries regarding the exam before starting on specific tips for different stages of the exam. This article contains a few questions put to me over the last few days by potential IAS aspirants. The answers are based on my experience and may not apply to all the candidates. From now onwards, I will be writing as regularly as possible. If you have any queries, you can post them in the comments below the article. I would try to respond to each and every query.

Q1. I am a beginner. From where can I get knowledge about this exam?
Ans. Please visit http://upsc.gov.in/exams/notifications/csp2010/notcvl.htm#PageTop.

Q2. How should I decide about my optionals?
Ans. Interest and aptitude should be the foremost criteria for deciding the optionals. If you are comfortable in your graduation subject go ahead with it. Carefully look at the syllabus, previous year papers and some basic text books of that subject before deciding.

Q3. How much time should I devote daily?
Ans. I would say you should try to utilize every moment if you are preparing for this exam. But do not take too much stress. I used to study regularly for 10-12 hours. A couple of weeks before the main exams, I increased that to 14-15 hours.

Q4. Which newspaper/magazine should I read?
Ans. The Hindu is a very good newspaper for all stages of the exam. I did not refer to any magazine for the Mains exam. They are irrelevant if newspapers are followed regularly.

Q5. What books I should follow for GS?
Ans. This will be discussed in detail in a separate article.

Q6. How should I manage time for both the optionals and GS?
Ans. One should allocate the available time (from day1 till exam date) in weeks/months among the optionals and GS on the basis of extent and difficulty of syllabus as well as her confidence level. Try to study GS on a daily basis. For optional I followed the cycle Optional I-Paper I -> Optional II-Paper I -> Optional I-Paper II -> Optional II-Paper II -> Revision in the same order. One can follow any pattern according to her comfort level.

Q7. Do I need to make notes?
Ans. It is a personal choice. Ideally one should have a mixture of notes and underlining. I did not have the habit of preparing notes, and preferred underlining. But one should have regular practice of answer writing.

Q8. How much time should I devote to the newspaper?
Ans. During initial days it is natural to devote more time to newspaper. But one should be selective. For example, during later days in the preparation I devoted half-hour only. I will cover in GS article what I used to read in a newspaper.

Q9. Should I go for selective or exhaustive study?
Ans. I went for exhaustive study. But if time does not permit one can go for selective study.

Q10. Do I need to attend coaching?
Ans. There are both pros and cons of joining coaching. For me cons were: It would affect my study schedule, my independent thinking, risk of getting bad teachers and thereby wasting time and money. However they might be helpful if one is totally new to a particular subject. I did not join any classroom coaching or mock interview for any subject for CSE-2009.

In subsequent articles, I will be talking about all exam-related issues in more detail.

Prakash

  1. sir,it’s great, confidence level is unbelievable,many candidates of rural region can’t afford coaching and they let their dream turn down with the myth of coaching,but after reading yours story they will see the new sunlight……..

  2. how to decide our goal???????

  3. hii sir….plzz suggest sme coachings in delhi….as m a btech (CS)student completing my btech in june…n m goin to prepare with subjects Public ad…n..anthropology..even i didnt take ny coaching fr my engineering entrance exams bt….nw i think it is must fr me…..so plzz sir suggest sme coaching!!!!!!!

    • @mansi: Since i dont have these optionals, i have no idea about their coaching.

  4. hello rajpurohit sir,
    once again i congrtas u on ur grand success . i m a mechanical engineer and i aspiring fr cse2011,and WITHOUT COACHING . i have some quarry ,kindly give ur valuable suggestions:-

    1) from what level an engineer has to start studying G.S alone (like many says study 6,12 ncert books , notes etc etc)??

    the reason behind asking this question is ” engineer(technical field ) guys has to leave G.S after class 10th , but arts background people continued it until their graduation”
    so there is confusion in my mind from where i actually start the G.S and until what depth i have to carried it on?

    2) WHAT does g.s preparation comprise?
    3) how much time is needed for preparing prelims 2011 and mains2011 ?
    4) shall i have to start preparing for prelim and mains simultaneously.
    5) what is ur optional subject?
    6) which books ,notes for g.s one has to read while preparing alone (no coaching conditions)?

    7) what is the expectation in g.s paper (understanding or mugging facts)

    —-FROM
    khelendra agrawal
    IIT ROORKEE

    • @khelendra: I started with class XI,XII NCERT books. My optionals are elect engg. & mathematics. I will write detailed gs strategy in next post.

  5. first of all many congrats 4 such success.since you are the only topper with the MATHEMATICS who is writing blog.It would be great help to all aspirant with math optional who r not taking any coaching.pls give a detailed strategy of maths preparation.

  6. Hi Sir …congratulations for ur grand success!!…with two heavy subjects you c racked this exam in your 2nd attempt..that’s a great achievement. Sir i have maths as one of my optionals…please suggest me relevant books for the same.
    Is brilliant tutorials material helpful??
    What was your correct attempt in maths in both the attempts?
    Did u left any topic?

    • @lokesh I prepared exhaustively, referred to bt material for few topics only, will give detailed strategy soon.

  7. Hello,good evening.myself joyanto chakraborty from kharagpur.congrats for ur grand success,may God bless u.i am IES officer working with the Railways as DEE/CLW.there is a magical coincidence 6f knowing u if i am not wrong that i was doing my m.tech in iitd while t joined in 1st year and i had to take ur lab and power systems classes and i am so happy that u r the topper.sir i have a sincere query to u.i hav bedn preparing for the civil services with electrical and sanskrit.this is my last attempt and my prelims went well.last year i could not clear mains for 15 marks only due to electrical as all other marks were very good.despite objections,i took the subject seeing revu sir’s result and now ur result.iam comfortable with the subject and just want to get guideline where i went wrong.sir i just want to talk to u once and my contact no and my email id are furnished.plz give ur no in email bnd plz reply.give ur email id too.i desperately need ur help.hope u will respond.thanx.my no 9434727770.email id jchakraborty.ies@gmail.com.plz guide me,i shall remain evergrateful to u

    • @joyanto i am sure you will do good this time. i will give a detailed electrical strategy for mains soon.

  8. Sir i hav asked u n wanna remind u that i seek ur help in gs 2nd specially sc n tech so plz sir…..

  9. sir please give me some tips for interview

  10. Hi Prakash
    I have maths and electrical as options.We met at the UPSC during exam.I got 250 in maths which i had expected as i had completed only about half the syllabus. But it is electrical that is bothering me.Though i had done very badly i expected atleast 200 marks.I only got 125.Please suggest a general strategy for electrical.Could you also tell what questions you answered in EE1 and EE2 and in what order? Also did you choose all the questions to answer in the beginning or you choose them one by one as you went along.I remember you telling me that you had prepared notes for the 7 layer architecture.Which book u used??

    It was unlucky for you to miss rank 1 🙂

    • @kamlesh:i think you are the one who met me during both the papers. i will post a general strategy with booklist soon. i did not care about the order.

  11. sir please refer some useful websites foe cse prepartion

    • @shashank 1. wikipedia 2. pib 3. commerce ministry 4. WTO/WIPO/IMF websites

  12. sir, first of all congratulations on your success………
    khuda aapko is jahan ki har khushi se nawaze………..
    i know you are an agnoist………but jald hi you’ll become a believer………..
    sir i also wrote mains with amths and geography………..
    you have to guide me with maths………i come from mussorie………and want to reach the academy as soon as possible………..
    chaliye sir,best of luck….
    i will not use the word hope………….because i know we’ll meet for sure……….
    jai hind………

  13. i am mechanical engg. Sophomore .sir whats the right time to start prep. try to tell after which semester …also is there any moderation or scaling in engg optionals i.e. in ee did you got what you expected ? Ihave heard even if u get 600/600 in maths ur score will be scaled to 450 odd something !

    • @bharat.. if you have decided to write the exam then start preparing right now. i did 600/600 in both ee and maths.. lets see how much i will get.. expects around 400(due to whatever moderation/scaling)

  14. i am mechanical engg. Sophomore .sir whats the right time to start prep. try to tell after which semester …also is there any moderation or scaling in engg optionals i.e. in ee did you got what you expected ? Ihave heard even if u get 600/600 in maths ur score will be scaled to 450 odd something !!

  15. also discuss your drawbacks in previous attempts??

    • @shashank: i completed b.tech in 2007. regarding drawbacks, i still dont know why i got abysmally low score in ee. but in 2nd attempt you get time for revision and practice.

  16. In which year you completed ur b.tech??

  17. Why Mathematics is considered very tough optional choice ?

    • @Rohan: There is heavy moderation, vast syllabus, lengthy paper.

      • grrrrr! but am opted for it plz tell me the books for it & ne coaching available .

  18. Congratulations sir

  19. I am saddened by the fact that you have not dragged vajiram to court for claiming your name. vajiram has no faculty worth its name. Most faulty is just-failed. Basically resting on past glory.

    • @prerna: Yes it is incorrect for them to use my 2008 enrolment for 2009 exam. I dont know whether it is legal or not. The cons of coaching which i mentioned apply to them.

  20. Thanks sir. In the original post, i misspelt faculty as faulty.Pranam.

  21. respected sir my name is prince, i completed b.e in 2008 frm delhi colg of engg, sir i studied maths for almost 2yrs but got only 179/600 in this mains…i m shattered completely…i m felling lik i wasted my 2yrs and the money which i arrangd vd so difficulty…sir sum of my frns are advising me to leave maths and tak sum arts optional…sir pls pls guide me, i did lots of and lots of mistakes in maths paper….
    sir u wont hv time to reply for evry inquiry, but i will still wait……….

    • You have to improve upon your mistakes and weaknesses. It is possible to score good marks, say 350+, if you do 500+ correctly, which is not very difficult since you’ve already put 2 years of effort.

  22. hello sir Congratulations,
    i m rajneesh mishra, b.tech-itbhu07 in chemical engg.
    it was my 1st attrmpt in 09. i got 825.in essay-100,g.s.-262,pub ad-275,math-120+68=188
    sir i want to know that have u covered 100%syllabus of math, is there any particular style of writting in math bcoz i had done much more than what i got,after doing how much i will get 350+in math,in ur 1st attempt what were ue marks in math n how much u attempted,and finally should i continue with math or leave it although i love mathematics.
    pls reply sir i will thankful to u.

    • Yes, I covered 100% syllabus. If you love mathematics, you should keep it as one of your subjects. You have to attempt at least 500+ correctly to get 350+. I got 390 in first attempt.

  23. score 390 in math in mains Gr8! that’s a reason we gonna opt mathematic , but which materials you referred for mathematics and plz do let us know and also best strategy

  24. thank you very much sir for replying….sir still i feel that my brain is not that sharp as you IITians have….i was shivering in upsc during maths paper and solved pub admin comfortably…why didn’t god gIve me master brain like you iitians…i totally wasted my 2yrs..in pub admin i got 278 in just 4 months…maybe less brain needed in arts optionals but surely i will nvr be able to become IAS vd such 270 marks….
    BEST OF LUCK FOR YOUR FUTURE LIFE SIR…!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  25. I am a loser a damn loser who scored a shameful score of 179 in two yrs…!!!!!!!

    • You are being unnecessarily cynical about your performance. Last time I got only 231 in Electrical – a subject which I thought I had mastered in 4 years in my B.Tech at IIT. So stop this self-deprecation and get back to work.

  26. Mr Prakash ,I am happy that u answered to my query.I will be very confident if at leat u discuss a detailed study plan and answer-writing techniques for electrical engg.I think I am making some mistakes while answering or solving.I may be skipping steps and not answerring up to the mark and so in a hurry I may be making wrong.I don’t know if they deduct marks for wrong or insufficient steps.I am also not sure whether there is some standard steps.I will be very happy if u please show me some light.Is it poossible to get some notes or some help from u ?Plz my friend respond me.Thanx.

    • @joyanto: Yes sure. I will upload some sample answers from this years paper soon.

  27. Hi Prakash Sir,
    A HEARTY CONGRATULATIONS FOR YOUR SUCCESS..myself Prathibha with electrical as 1st optional,please mention the book list,question banks and strategy for electrical also,its of a grate help for the aspirants like me,thank you..have a nice time,and become a very good,sincere officer..

  28. hello sir.
    hearty congratulations 2 you on ur grand success.

    sir i wrote my 1st attempt in o9 with maths n sociology.though i scored considerable score in other papers but performed poorly in maths(paper1-82, paper2-93, total 175).
    though i love maths n even acc 2 me my preparation was also gud……but i got far less then wat i was expecting……i really dont understand d reason for it.
    sir, so i planned 2 change the optional in mains from maths 2 pub ad but i m really in confusion that whether my decision is correct or not?…….
    sir ur score of 390/600 is just mind blowing……but it is seen that the average score in maths is quite less then as compared 2 other optionals.
    so i just wanna know that whether u suggest that change of subject is d right decision or not?
    i have lost faith in maths wen i have compared the marks scored by the people in other optionals……but ur scores r quite motivating …..n now creating confusion for me 2 take the decision? plz help….

    • @Sahil: Mathematics is a good optional if you have covered the entire syllabus and are able to complete the entire paper. However, your choice of Mathematics as an optional should be independent of anyone scoring very low marks or for that matter anyone scoring very high marks. So if you really like Math and you think you are good at it, go ahead.

  29. Mubarak ho Sir..for ur grand success..kya aapko lagta hai talents aur kismat has any role to play in this exam..kyunki ur iit topper and similaliy IAS..koi kewal mehnat se itna ucha nahi uth sakta as i belive..agar aisa hai to natural talent ko kaise badhaye..
    aur what is the thing or Quotes which motivates u…mera sawal thoda lamba hai per ur Answer Matters Alot to me….

    • @Lokesh: Both talent and luck have a role to play in success in this exam, but what matters even more is hard work. The first two parameters are those over which we have no control – so no point worrying about them. Its the amount of hard work we do that we can control and that can be all the difference between success and failure.

  30. congratulations sir,

    1) what is the ideal score to qualify from prelims to mains and mains to the interview stage?

    2) i am maths h graduate… so it seemed logical to take maths as an option for civil ..but still not sure abt the 2nd one.. ?? ppl say pub ad because it’s course is limited.. some say history since it covers 50% of GS paper.. but it’s too vast .. has been bothering me a lot.. !!

    3) can u tell us more abt the essay paper in detail… viz the kind of topics that are given??

    • 1) 190/450 in prelims. In the mains, the total score counts.
      2) No, history doesn’t cover 50% of the GS paper. Its contribution in this year’s paper was only 50/600. Out of pub.ad and history, I would recommend pub.ad because of the limited course as you said.
      3) i’ll be posting more about the essay paper very soon
      4) i don’t know

  31. 4) also number of students selected from maths ?? if it’s still unknown .. when will it the list be out ??

  32. sir,
    How did u prepare for essays?

  33. Mr Prakash,plz also give a broad guidelines on 1) standard books, 2) practice guidelines 3) model answers and steps for each topic of electrical engg.thanx.will ur preparatory notes be available?i will try to follow u in toto as i hav none to guide me.plz help me.

  34. hi Prakash,
    Hearty congratulations for your splendid success and gratitude for your noble effort of guiding the future aspirants.

    I am into my final year B.tech(CS) this year and planning to take CSE in 2011. I am in dilemma over choosing two science subjects as optionals(maths and physics) for the mains exam. Most people have suggested against going with two science optionals. Even a last year topper who had got through with two science optionals, has advised for going with one science and one arts/lang rather than going with two science subjects. In this regard, I would like to know your experience, views and suggestion. Can you please throw some light on the pros and cons of choosing 2 science subjects?

    Specifically, would it affect our performance if we choose a two science subject and on the same lines would choosing an optionals like PubAd would boost our performance with same labour?

    I would like to appologise for mentioning some other person view(a last year topper) in here, if it had hurt u in any means.

    Again, cheers for your magnanimous effort.

    • @vinay: there are pros and cons of every optional. and the effect of pros and cons on a candidate is different for all. yes science subjects have vast syllabus, lengthy paper and heavy moderations. but because of objective nature it is possible to score very high in them(see my marksheet).
      you have to decide whether pros or cons are dominant in your case.

  35. sir please tell me your mains marks.

  36. Sir,Best wishes to you for your grand success.Sir i m going to give my first attempt in 2011…sir i want to know about moderation/scaling….i didnt get the funda of moderation…what is dat sir..pls reply sir..waiting fr your reply sir

  37. Hi Prakash,
    I would like to know about the physical fitness standards for IAS/IPS/….
    I found that[from upsc site] it is available in “Appendix-III of Rules for Examination published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary dated 2nd January, 2010.”
    But i could not locate it, could you please let us know about this?

    Thanks,

  38. Hello sir,
    1st of all i wanna congratulate u on ur grand success.
    sir, i m doing b.tech in punjabi univ. patiala
    and preparing for cse with MATHS and MECHANICAL ENGG.
    sir can u guide me about mechanical engg. prep. and books, if u know or somehow u can tell me, i need to know desperately. and how much time is req. to prepare for the exam as currently i m in 7th semester.
    and sir for maths should i refer for any institute or books are fine?

    • @mohit: i will try to get in touch with someone with mechanical eng. optional.

      • hello sir,
        did u find any material or infor. regarding mechanical engineering….

  39. sir, i m pursuing law frm NLU,plz suggest me books name for optional if u can get in touch with anyone with law as optional and how to select relevent material frm newspaper

  40. as u know how much effort, we need to put to clear this exam. Still you feel that working people have any chance to clear this, without leaving their current job.

    • @rohit: both of your queries are subjective and each person will have different answers. do not go by anybody’s opinion on these matters.

  41. hello hearty congratulations to u .i am undergraduate in computer science opting for maths as one optional and other either electrical about which after seeing the syllabus i could think i get to know around 60%of it or else i should go for altogether new arts subject like geography,kindly give your valuable suggestion.

    • @mohd razi: you are comp sc student, dont go for the electrical. definitely choose humanities subjects like pub ad, geography.

  42. hello sir,
    did u find any material or infor. regarding mechanical engineering….

  43. Hi Mr. Prakash Rajpurohit,

    First of all, My heartiest Congratulations on the spendid Feat that you have achieved in the Civil Services Exam 2009-2010.Success of People like you and Dr.Shah Faesal motivate me a lot.

    I am doing bachelors in Social Sciences from GNDU, Amritsar. I am in my first year and have just started with the course this week itself .(I went to Australia after my 10+2 and almost spent 2 years over there but I came back because I realized my dream is to become an IPS, so my ultimate goal is only and only to clear the civil services exam sometime)…

    I have selected Economics, Political Science and Sociology as my optionals during these 3 years of my graduation. Now, I would like some advice over these points–

    1. How can I start the preparation from now on itself so that I am able to appear in CSE after my 3rd year confidently?..

    2.Which newspapers and magazines u recommend me to start reading from now-on ?–(I read hindustan times daily and some issues of CSR and Pratiyogita darpan)

    3.Since, I am probably going to have these subjects as my optionals in CSE, should I just stick to the syllabus or material that will be taught to us during my graduation Years ?

    4. How can I start developing the aptitude that a Civil Servant should Possess?

    5. What do u think of the newly introduced format of CSAT for prelims. WOuld it really help in sidelining people who are just book-worms and, would d people with an officer like attitude and right mentalities would be preferred?

    Reply from an IAS would be a matter of honour for me.

    Thanks, U r doing a great work by providing advice to aspirants like me at the cost of your valuable Time…..

    • @amritpal: it is good that you have started preparing from 1st year itself. instead of ht read the hindu, economic times. for cse prep stick to the syllabus prescribed by the upsc. purchase previous year question papers to have an idea about kind of questions asked. i dont know what new pattern will be, so i cant comment on that.

  44. Thanks Mr. Rajpurit.. Will follow ur advice…

  45. please ignore those spelling Mistakes in ur name…Thx

  46. Hi Prakash.

    I want to know IS it mandatory to take coaching classes for civil services preparation?

    AND

    How can we cope with the stress and the pressure of an examination like this and how to keep ourselves motivated and directed towards our goals each and every day?..what activites can be done to relieve the burden?…

  47. Dear Sir,
    I tend to get very nervous on any interviews I go for. I don’t know why. Even if I know the things I am asked but in the nervousness, i forget them aswell.. What can I do to overcome this I mean its a big hurdle in my path….

  48. Hello bhaiya,

    How can Internet be used for CSE preparation?.. and which magazines u recommend to be read?..

    AND

    Is it mandatory to attend coaching classes for ur exam preparations?…

  49. Sir,
    Iam BTech second year ,IIT Patna electrical ,will be apppearing for CSE 2014 ,I have read in the newspaper that UPSC has set the target of 3 yrs for Aptitute in mains exam hence removing all the optionals ; i want to start my preparation nowards ,but in dilemna that should i leave the optionals now and concentrate on GS ;what aptitute should i develop for the IAS for the aptitute test? please help me out .

    Thanks

    • @utsav: see nothing is finalized right now. wait for the csat pattern to be declared. you should carry on with the optionals also.

  50. Hi Raj…Do u know when is the CSAT pattern gonna be declared?…Any Idea?…

  51. sir, I want to take up physics and sanskrit as my optionals – Do you know anyone who could’ve taken up sanskrit and can guide me for the same.
    The choice of both optional is purely interest based – is it an otherwise feasible combination.
    P.S. – I am an undergradute (electronics) and have just started the preparation.

  52. Congratulations Prakash Bhai… I Think You Are Getting Rajasthan cadre…so agains congrats…

    Prem Meena Doctoral Fellow,
    School of International Studies
    JNU

  53. Hi Raj, I heard that you are tutoring students in south Delhi for Mains 2010? can i get in touch ?

  54. Hi raj..The new CSE pattern (csat)..it consists of two papers now…one for general studies and other for aptitude of d candidates….does dat means, extra effort has to be given to general studies….

  55. Dear sir,
    is it necessary to stay in Delhi for UPSC preparation so that one can stay in touch with other ppl & get advantage of GD from them….???
    i m from rural area which is very very backward even we don’t get newspaper of our choice so i m thinking to move to Delhi for self study only.i need your advice whether to stay in mumbai or Delhi? or in your opinion place does’nt matter as long as one have necessary material and newspapers etc…….

  56. Hi Sir,

    this is arvind (B.Tech- Civil Engg.). I have gone through ur page, and found it quite helpul and full of informations and valuable help for CSE aspirants.

    I have also gone through other UPSC topper’s blogs as well. My optionals are geography and Hindil Lit (medium is Hindi). Unfortunately I did’nt find matters like startgies, course materials etc regarding these two subjects on their blogs.

    So,I would be highly greatful, if you could give me any link/s or mail-ids of the successful candidates or ur friends, so that I could connect myself to them and can talk about my specific queries and doubts regarding the above two subjects.

    waiting for ur reply in anticipation

    thanks

    arvind

  57. Hello Sir,
    Many congratulations on your great feat
    I am very happy reading yours, anay sir’s blog, garima mam’s blog,Tanvi mam’s blog and really inspired by your methodology.

    Because of my keen interest in taking up CSE I have now started with my preparation.
    But my academics have been always a big concern.

    Class X aggregate 58%
    Class XII aggregate 44%
    B.E. aggregate 58.6%

    If I do good then what are the odds that these lower than average credentials will have an impact on my selection.
    As the UPSC web informs:
    “The candidate will be interviewed by a Board who will have before them a record of his career.”
    And further they are looking for a well educated youth.
    As in many other exams such as CAT they look into overall good profile.

    Kindly guide me through this as I am sometimes demotivated by these facts.

    • @ravi: dont bother about any such things, it is your effort from now onwards which will matter.

  58. Hi Prakash,

    Congratulations on your extra-ordinary feat!
    A thorough reading of your blog and many other toppers’ blogs has substantially cleared my doubt regarding CSE preparation. The only dilemma I face is regarding coaching. I absolutely agree with the cons of coaching as discussed by you, that it disturbs one’s daily schedule, hampers independent thinking and wastes a lot of time…I have a few questions though-

    1. How did you evaluate your answers?
    2. How did you prepare writing in exam like conditions?
    3. How did you know what to read from which source?
    4. How did you evaluate your preparation progress?

    If you could please answer these queries, I would be highly obliged.

    Regards
    Vinamarata

    • @vinamarata: if your optionals are humanities subjects then join test series or consult an expert in that subject. for objective papers like maths you can evaluate yourself.

  59. good morning sir, i am a civil engg passout of 2010 batch from M.M.M.engg. college, gorakhpur,U.P. Please help me sir…
    sir, i got AIR-1 in GATE-2010 but i didn’t join M.Tech as i wanted to prepare for engg. services exam (ESE) and civil services(CSE). In ESE-2010, which was my first attempt, i have done the papers well and i am hoping to clear it with a good rank(within 20-25). i now want to prepare for CSE but i am not able to select my optionals. i want to take civil engg and pub adm. as optionals; but many are advising not to take civil engg. they are saying that it is not scoring and is lengthy but i am comfortable with it. Does civil engg and pub adm. is a good combination? As you are an engineer, you will be knowing about engg. subjects. please help me sir in selecting the optionals. please give me some of your costly time and tell me the strategy for preparing. I would be very grateful to you sir.

    yours’ sincerely,
    well and i am hoping to clear it with a good rank(within 20-25). i now want to prepare for CSE but i am not able to select my optionals. i want to take civil engg and pub adm. as optionals; but many are advising not to take civil engg. they are saying that it is not scoring and is lengthy but i am comfortable with it. Does civil engg and pub adm. is a good combination? As you are an engineer, you will be knowing about engg. subjects. please help me sir in selecting the optionals. please give me some of your costly time and tell me the strategy for preparing. I would be very grateful to you sir.

    yours’ sincerely,
    well and i am hoping to clear it with a good rank(within 20-25). i now want to prepare for CSE but i am not able to select my optionals. i want to take civil engg and pub adm. as optionals; but many are advising not to take civil engg. they are saying that it is not scoring and is lengthy but i am comfortable with it. Does civil engg and pub adm. is a good combination? As you are an engineer, you will be knowing about engg. subjects. please help me sir in selecting the optionals. please give me some of your costly time and tell me the detailed strategy for preparing. I would be very grateful to you sir.

    yours’ sincerely,
    vikas singh

    • @vikas: yes pub admin is good optional. engg subjects in cse are not that scoring. and there is no such thing called good combination. you can go for civil engg. if you think you can be among the first 3 candidates who give the exam(hardly 100 people give)

  60. sorry sir for the mistakes(repetition) in my question. but i couldn’t
    guess why it happened. i had typed it correctly.

  61. good morning sir, i am a civil engg passout of 2010 batch. Please help me sir…
    sir, i got AIR-1 in GATE-2010 but i didn’t join M.Tech as i wanted to prepare for engg. services exam (ESE) and civil services(CSE). In ESE-2010, which was my first attempt, i have done the papers well and i am hoping to clear it with a good rank(within 20-25). i now want to prepare for CSE but i am not able to select my optionals. i want to take civil engg and pub adm. as optionals; but many are advising not to take civil engg. they are saying that it is not scoring and is lengthy but i am comfortable with it. Does civil engg and pub adm. is a good combination? As you are an engineer, you will be knowing about engg. subjects. please help me sir in selecting the optionals. please give me some of your costly time and tell me the strategy for preparing. I would be very grateful to you sir.

    yours’ sincerely,
    vikas singh

  62. sir,
    from the mains point of view from when should we follow the news paper religiously for current events ..since the mains is in october

  63. Hi prakash
    can I have ur mail ID?

    Nitesh

  64. Good morning sir

    Sir I would like ti know some details regarding posting of an IAS officer. I know initially one person will be posted as sub collector and then will be promoted to the post of collector or district magistrate. But can you please tell from there on what are the other post that an IAS officer will be taking on. Does the Officer have any voice in fixing of the post. Can he suggest i am not interested in taking on this poat or i am interested in sch and such post.

    I have been reading lot about preparation. But i don’t have no idea about officers at work since we don’t have any medium to speak to an IAS officer. Now you are communicating to the aspirants. I hope that you can clarify my query.

    Thank you.

    • @sajeer: even after joining i dont have clear cut idea. after district posting ias officers goes for secretariat postings.

  65. HI SIR I M FIRST YEAR STUDENT OF MECHANICAL ENGG. WHAT I WOULD DO TO START PREPARATION OF UPSC NOW ?

  66. Congratulation Prakash Sir,
    Your blog is going to be very-very useful for me. I truly admire it…

    I m Electronics Engg. having 2 yrs work-ex in IT & Telecom Industry, decided to bunk my job for CSE prep. My 1st optional is definitely going to be Electrical but confused on second one. Please comment on my thoughts against the subjects…

    1. Maths >> I too was good in Maths n my Marks/Attempt ratio has always been best but my speed slow in writing answer (same cons. apply on Electrical but I think I can manage one)
    2. Psychology >> I find syllabus interesting and Availability of good coaching – Vajiram for GS n Psycho.
    3. Geography >> Supposed to be best option for Engineers to prep cse.

    Also if you can comment on Vajiram(GS)it’s the major reason I hav to bunk my job because I m poor GS…

    cpsoni18@gmail.com

  67. sir,in the booklist u have given k.d.prasad for e.m theory. sir, would u plz specify the exact title of the book??

  68. Hello Prakash,

    I know you would be very busy, but please spare some time for this:
    Now that the mains are over please suggest how to prepare,what to do or study for the interview. Regarding optionals (I have Elect. engg. & maths) what sort of questions could we expect in the interview.

    Also it would be very beneficial if you post your interview transcript.

    Thanks & Regards

  69. hello thanks for your reply, i have just one doubt that i don’t look so matured , look just like a teenaged boy but i am sure of cracking the exam, as it is administrative job does my physical appearance have any effect in my selection.

Leave a Reply

